Civil Justice Award

The Civil Justice Award was established in 1996 to recognize individuals or entities who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to the goals for which the New Hampshire Association for Justice was established, namely,

to promote the administration of justice for the public good,...to uphold the honor and dignity of the profession of law,...to uphold the right of trial by jury,...to preserve and enhance the rights of persons to have access to the Courts and our system of justice,...and to afford everyone a full, fair and timely remedy for wrongs done.

In short, this award recognizes outstanding commitment to the improvement and preservation of the American civil justice system. The award is not limited to members of NHAJ or even to attorneys.

<u>Year</u>	Recipient
2019	Hon. Kenneth C. Brown, Retired Justice of the New Hampshire Superior
	Court
2018	Sen. Donna M. Soucy, New Hampshire General Court
2017	Hon. Carol Ann Conboy, Retired Justice of the New Hampshire Supreme Court
2016	Hon. Tina L. Nadeau, Chief Justice of the New Hampshire Superior Court:
	Hon. Sawako T. Gardner, Associate Justice, New Hampshire Circuit
	Court, and Hon. James J. Leary, Associate Justice, New Hampshire
	Circuit Court
2015	Attorney Peter S. Smith (Posthumously)
2014	Claire Ebel, Retired Executive Director, New Hampshire Civil Liberties
	Union
2013	New Hampshire Legal Assistance
2012	The Concord Monitor – Felice Beiman, Executive Editor, and Ralph Jimenez, Opinion Page Editor
2011	Hon. Kenneth R. McHugh, Associate Justice of New Hampshire Supreme Court
2010	Rep. Peter R. Leischman, New Hampshire General Court
2009	Dean John D. Hutson, Franklin Pierce Law Center
2008	Sen. Robert E. Clegg, Sen. David G. Gottesman and Sen. Joseph A. Foster New Hampshire General Court
2007	Attorney Michael P. Hall (posthumous), Hall, Stewart P.A.
2006	Hon. Harold W. Perkins, Associate Judge, New Hampshire Superior Court
2005	Chief Timothy Russell, Henniker Police Department
2004	Hon. David A. Brock, Chief Justice, New Hampshire Supreme Court
2003	Hon. William H. Barry, Jr., Retired Magistrate (posthumous), United States District Court
2002	Rep. John M. "Jack" Pratt, New Hampshire General Court

2001	Mark Kirouac
2000	Hon. Martin F. Loughlin, Retired Judge, United States District Court
1999	Hon. Joseph P. Nadeau, Chief Justice, New Hampshire Superior Court
1998	SenBeverly A. Hollingworth, New Hampshire General Court
1997	Rep. Sandra B. Keans, New Hampshire General Court
1996	Hon. William F. Batchelder, Retired Justice, New Hampshire Supreme
	Court

Board of Governors Award

The Board of Governors Award is presented to a member or associate member of NHAJ who has demonstrated exemplary support of the Association and its goals over an extended period of time through the volunteering of his or her time and expertise and/or financial support.

T 7	
<u>Year</u>	Recipient
2019	Holly B. Haines
2018	Roger D. Turgeon
2017	Timothy C. Coughlin & Finis E. Williams, III
2016	Christine M. Craig
2015	Jared P. O'Connor & Anna G. Zimmerman
2014	William D. Woodbury
2013	Robin C. Curtiss
2012	Ralph F. Holmes
2011	Kevin F. Dugan
2010	Gary B. Richardson
2009	David L. Nixon
2008	Maureen Raiche Manning
2007	Antje S. Bourdages
2006	Thomas R. Watson
2005	Leslie C. Nixon & Edward W. Stewart, Jr.
2004	Michael S. McGrath
2003	Nicholas D. Brown
2002	Roger B. Phillips
2001	Timothy C. Coughlin
2000	Finis E. Williams, III & Leslie C. Nixon
1999	David M. Gottesman
1998	R. David DePuy
1997	Kevin F. Dugan & Kevin M. Leach
1996	Edward M. Van Dorn, Jr.
1995	Martin R. Jenkins & Kenneth C. Brown
1994	David N. Cole, II
1993	Carol A. Gagnon
1992	Edward W. Stewart, Jr.
1991	Gary B. Richardson
1990	John P. Griffith
1989	Roger B. Phillips

Granite State Advocate Award

Granite State Advocate Awards are given periodically to attorneys in New Hampshire who, in the course of zealously representing their clients, pursue and help achieve substantive changes in the law of the state which improve our civil justice system, enhance the rights of citizens' access to the courts, preserve the right of trial by jury or enhance the right of everyone to attain full, fair and timely remedies for civil wrongs.

Year	Recipient
2019	Jared P. O'Connor for his work in Appeal of Andrew Panaggio
2018	B.J. Branch and Megan Douglass for their work in <i>Langevin v. Travco Insurance Company</i>
2017	Lawarence A. Vogelman for his work in the Legal Boots on the Ground/Veterans Law Project.
2016	Leslie H. Johnson for her work in <i>US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission v Fred Fuller Oil Company, Inc.</i> and <i>Appeal of Northridge Environmental, LLC,</i> and Ellen Purcell for her work in <i>US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission v Fred Fuller Oil Company, Inc.</i>
2015	Nancy Richards-Stower for her long history of advocacy for the rights of employees
2013	Brian C. Shaughnessy for his work on <i>Dan's City Used Cars</i> , <i>Inc.</i> v. <i>Pelkey</i>
2012	Barbara R. Keshen and Jon Meyer for their work on <i>Doyle v. Commissioner</i>
2008	Andru H. Volinsky, Scott F. Johnson, John E. Tobin, Jr. and Tom P. Connair for their work protecting the constitutional rights of children in New Hampshire in the <i>Claremont</i> lawsuits
2007	Kevin M. Leach for his work in <i>Desclos v. Southern New Hampshire Medical Center</i>
2005	Edward M. Van Dorn, Jr. and Robin C. Curtiss for their work in <i>Knapp v. Tennesse Pipeline</i> .

2004 David M. Gottesman, Scott H. Harris, Jennifer A. Lemire, Leslie C. Nixon and Michael P. Rainboth for their work in representing the families of victims of the September 11, 2001, tragedy through the Trial Lawyers Care Program. 2003 David M. Gottesman & Anna Barbara Hantz for their work in *Remsburg v*. Docusearch and Roy A. Duddy, John A Wolkowski, & Charles V. Moser for their work in Graves v. Estabrook. 1999 Thomas R. Watson for his longstanding service as chair of the NHTLA Legislative Committee 1998 Bruce W. Felmly & Edgar D. McKean, III for their work in Tebbetts v. Ford Motor Company 1997 Paul R. Cox, for his work in Irving v. United States of America

President's Award

The President's Award is given annually to the individual who, in the opinion of the President, has been of outstanding service to the Association and of particular help to the President of the year of the award. The award is not limited to members of the Association but may be presented to anyone who assists the Association in achieving its objectives for that year.

Year	Recipient
2019	Roger D. Turgeon
2018	Marissa L. Chase
2017	Holly B. Haines
2016	Thomas R. Watson
2015	Amanda L. Gazlay
2014	Anna Goulet Zimmerman
2013	Maureen Raiche Manning
2012	William D. Woodbury
2011	Paul W. Chant
2010	Ellen J. Shemitz
2009	Timothy C. Coughlin
2008	Karen M. Mullaney
2007	Thomas R. Watson
2006	Robert D. Hunt
2005	Michael P. Hall
2004	Jennifer A. Farrell
2003	Kevin F. Dugan
2002	David M. Gottesman
2001	Roy A. Duddy
2000	James M. Demers
1999	Mary A. Kissell
1998	Jennifer L. Williams
1997	Rick C. Newman & Thomas R. Watson
1996	Rick C. Newman
1995	Jennifer G. Soldati
1994	Edward W. Stewart, Jr.
1993	Linda S. Saunders & Thomas R. Watson
1992	Kenneth C. Brown
1991	Linda S. Saunders
1989	Sarah E. Heintz

Lifetime Achievement Award

<u>Year</u>	Recipient
2019	David M. Gottesman
2018	Edward W. Stewart, Jr.
2017	Phillip R. Waystack
2016	Marilyn Billings McNamara
2015	Paul R. Cox
2014	Charles G. Douglas & Hon. Kenneth R. McHugh
2013	David L. Nixon